G42 Sensor Location

Hello,

I have a 2012 Seat Alhambra 1.9tdi Ecomotive SE (177hp/130kw). It is the engine with the plastic intake manifold as fitted to some Audi’s and Seat’s if that helps.

It went into limp-mode yesterday with the DPF light up. I have a Ross-Tech VCDS and found 2 error codes. High soot level and this sensor failure.

„Intake Air Temp. Sensor (G42) P0112 00 [175] - Signal too Low“

The intake air sensor fault is stopping me doing a forced DPF regeneration. Although I’m an ex-automotive engineer and a good mechanic I’m really having difficulty in actually actually locating this sensor, even looking at ETKA doesn’t help. Does anyone with a workshop manual or with access to the full Seat workshop software tell me where the sensor is located and how to get to it.

Any advice gratefully accepted.

Regards

Michael Dolan

Hi,

G42 seems to be a misleading information.
I would assume that a G42 is not present on modern engines like yours. See its usage e.g. here :click:

I believe that in your case P0112 refers to the intake air temperature sensor which I expect is integrated in the air mass sensor (LMM) housing.
Any change in the error message if you unplug the LMM?

PS: In this case of a gasoline engine it is on the intake manifold, see www.sgaf.de/content/code-p0112-432938

Thank you, I will have a look tonight. I spent many hours looking for a separate temperature sensor and did not consider that it may be part of the MAF sensor. One problem with believing that VCDS is 100% correct.

@armstrongracer: We are always happy to help.
for the old model the temperature sensor was combined with the intake pressure sensor. I may be also advisable to take a look in that direction.
OT: I am very pleased to learn that there are Sharalhambras cruising around in the US. Did you purchase it locally or did you import the vehicle?

Have a great day :slight_smile:

Und ich dachte immer Dublin/Irland wäre Europa :-/

#4: OK. Habe das Profil nicht gelesen.